no knead rosemary bread

You know when you attempt something new and each time, something’s just off? That was the case for this recipe. This original recipe was first featured in the New York Times and people were so excited to try it out as it took minimal effort for homemade bread that often tastes better than the store bought kind and beautiful (has an artisan look).

rosemary bread

I’m too prideful to post my failures (props to bloggers who share theirs) but this simple recipe perplexed me… until I bought an instant read thermometer. See the notes below to get the full story. I am proud to present my very own no knead rosemary bread!  After several failed attempts, I finally got it right!. I look forward to baking more of these (including some other variations) and I have to say, I like the bit the herb flavor that fresh rosemary gives in this simple bread recipe. Hope you’ll try it. Sounds complicated, but it’s very doable.

no knead rosemary bread (adapted from Steamy Kitchen – awesome step-by-step pics)

ingredients

3 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp kosher salt (or 1 1/4 tsp table salt)

2 teaspoons chopped rosemary

1/4 tsp dry active yeast (packets found in baking aisle)

1 1/3 cup warm water

1. In a medium bowl, mix together salt, flour, rosemary and yeast. Pour in the warm water into flour mixture and mix with a wooden spoon or your hands until all the flour is incorporated and it looks shaggy. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and leave it on the kitchen counter next to the refrigerator or in a warm spot.

2. Allow the dough to rest overnight or for 8 to 12 hours.

3. Take a clean mixing bowl and pour 1 tsp of oil. Rub the oil to cover the entire bottom and sides of the bowl. Lightly wet your hands to scoop out the dough mixture (should have a bubbly look before you scoop it out and smell like yeast) and place it in the bowl. Cover with a towel and stick it in your oven for 1 hour with just the oven light on.

4. After one hour, take it out. Dough should have doubled in size. If not, put it back in for another 30 minutes or until it’s doubled in size (with oven light on).

5. Turn oven on to 450F and set a timer for 10 minutes. Place an empty stock pot (about 3 quarts or bigger) into the oven to preheat it.

6. After 10 minutes, remove pot from oven and carefully place dough into the pot. Bake for 30 minutes covered with a piece of foil covering the top or a lid (as long as it doesn’t have a plastic knob).

7. After 30 minutes, remove foil or lid and bake for another 30 minutes.

8. Insert an instant thermometer to reach 210F* on the top or side for the bread to be ready.

9. Remove pot from oven and carefully remove bread to allow it to cool for 10 minutes or so. I placed mine on a wooden cutting board and placed 2 wooden spoons under each side to allow the it space to cool on its bottom side (makeshift cooling rack – easy tip I learned watching David Chang)

*Note: I really struggled with this recipe initially because my oven wasn’t actually reaching 450F. It was off by about 15 degrees. In baking, that’s huge! I highly recommend purchasing an instant read thermometer if you want to get this right (the 1st or at least the 2nd time after making adjustments). I bought mine at Smart & Final for $4. Don’t worry about buying a fancy electronic one… not necessary unless you really want to.  

Btw, here are some peaches that are growing from my mom’s tree. How cute are they? Hope that the birds don’t get to them before we do this season… the few I tried last summer were so sweet and juicy!

peaches

I want to leave you with one last image. This is Duncan, my sister’s rabbit. He was staying with   my parents (instead of his dad/owner) for a few weeks. What a cutie… hard to resist that face. I tease him (more like my sister) and call him Dunkin’ Donuts (photo credit to my sister). Yes, that blue bin is a litter box which he mostly uses to do his business.

duncan

4 thoughts on “no knead rosemary bread

Leave a Reply

