michelle’s turkey burger recipe

I don’t like surprises. I don’t like the unexpected and not being able to prepare for future. In other words, I’m a control freak. Haha.. I mention this because since I started this blog, one of the pleasant surprises has been friends actually cooking the recipes I post. I don’t know why this surprises me, but it does. In our foodie culture of the Food Network, celebrity chefs, and established food blogs like this and this one, I figure, who’d read this humble blog, let alone cook off it, seriously?! Friends have been asking for tips on menu planning, giving me feedback on dishes they’ve tried, and all in all, benefiting from my labor of love. At the end of the day, it confirms my sneaking suspicion that we all want to make good, healthy, and simple food for the people in our lives. And hey, if I can make these dishes, you sure can too (even better, I’m certain). It inspires me to keep going… so thanks for reading!

Here’s another one I made last month.. mmm… it was so juicy. Named after the First Lady, apparently she really enjoys this burger (random question, if we elect a woman president, does her husband then become the first gentleman? haha.. sounds strange).

Michelle’s turkey burgers with lemon mayonnaise (from F&W magazine)
serves 4
3 tablespoons canola oil
1 onion, halved and thinly sliced
1/2 cup finely chopped celery
1/2 cup finely chopped Granny Smith apple
2 scallions, thinly sliced
1 small canned chipotle in adobo, minced
1 1/2 pounds lean ground turkey breast
1 tablespoon minced flat-leaf parsley
2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/3 cup reduced-fat mayonnaise
1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon chopped thyme
4 whole-wheat hamburger buns, split and toasted (or bread slices)
4 iceberg lettuce leaves
4 tomato slices

1. In a nonstick skillet, heat 1 TB of canola oil. Add the sliced onion and cook over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until golden and softened, about 25 minutes. Transfer the onion to a bowl. Wipe out the skillet.
2. Heat 1 TB of canola oil in the skillet. Add the celery, apple and scallions and cook over moderate heat until softened, about 8 minutes. Transfer to a bowl and add the chipotle; let cool. Stir in the turkey, parsley, 1 teaspoon of the lemon zest, 2 teaspoons of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. Shape the mixture into four 1/2-inch-thick patties.
3. In the skillet, heat the remaining 1 TB of canola oil. Add the burgers and cook over moderately high heat, turning once, until no longer pink inside, about 10 minutes.
4. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix the mayo with the remaining 1 teaspoon of lemon zest, the lemon juice and chopped thyme and season with salt and pepper. Spread the lemon mayonnaise on the top halves of the buns; set the burgers on the bottom halves and top with the caramelized onions, lettuce and tomato. Close the burgers and serve.

Tips: When forming the patties, create a little dip in the middle. My friend GL was teaching me how burgers like to plump up in the middle so this helps to prevent that. Also, for the leftover chipotle peppers, you can freeze them. I have a great recipe for orange chipotle chicken I’ll share later.

One thought on “michelle’s turkey burger recipe

Leave a Reply

