homemade chicken broth

My friends in high school dubbed me the ‘walking Gap commercial’. I confess, I owned lots of khaki pants, button down shirts, and cardigans (and I went to a public school). I liked to think that back then, my style was laid-back, timeless, all-American chic. In hindsight, I didn’t care enough to venture beyond the basics of clean lines and comfort. I don’t think style is necessarily about following trends but developing your own sense of style and awareness of what looks best on you. What do I know about fashion and style? Haha…

Homemade chicken stock is timeless. Sure, it’s fun watching Top Chef and seeing what the new trends are in haute cuisine with molecular gastronomy and the like. But, for the everyday home cook, it’s about building on the basics, like chicken stock for dishes like risotto and soups. Once you use this instead of the canned stuff, you’ll never want to go back.

Tidbit: in French cooking, they refer to the celery, carrots, and onions as the holy trinity or mirepoix, used as the base for meat dishes or sauces, very influential in Western cooking. They make their appearance in this recipe. Next time, I’ll make a dish using this broth-y stock.

homemade chicken broth
adapted from how easy is that?
3 lbs of bone-in chicken (can be drumsticks, wings, thighs, or a whole roasting chicken)
2 yellow onions, peeled and quartered
3 carrots, unpeeled, halved
2 celery stalks with leaves, cut in thirds
5 garlic cloves, peeled
1 TB of sea salt
3 bay leaves
optional (if you have them on hand)
handful of parsley, fresh thyme, dill, 1 tsp of black peppercorns

Place all the ingredients in a large stockpot (I used my 6-qt stockpot. Use the biggest one of you have). Add 4.5 quarts of water and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down to a simmer and uncovered for about 2 hours. Strain the contents through a colander and discard the solids. Makes about 8 cups. Pack in quart containers or glass containers and chill overnight. Refrigerate for up to 5 days or freeze for up to 3 months.

Note: Instead of 3 lbs of chicken, I used 1.5 lbs of frozen chicken pieces and the remaining bones from a rotisserie chicken. Waste not want not.

The before:

and after:

Leave a Reply

