whole wheat pancakes with strawberries

I can’t believe it’s been almost a month since my last blog post. Sorry for for the woeful neglect. I’ve been trying different breakfast dishes on the weekends beyond my usual egg and veggie scrambles. As a way to get my whole wheat into my diet, I made these one Saturday, and you know what, they were pretty good! I know I have my bias against whole wheat pasta (might as well eat cardboard) but this mixture of all-purpose and whole wheat flour is pretty good.

whole wheat pancakes with strawberries (adapted from here)

1 cup all-purpose flour (about 4 1/2 ounces)
2/3 cup whole wheat flour (about 3 ounces)
2 TB brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 2/3 cups 2% reduced-fat milk
1 TB butter, melted
1 egg, lightly beaten

Topping
1 ½ cups strawberries, sliced (or use any berries or bananas you have)
2 TB granulated sugar (white)

1. Lightly spoon flours into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Combine milk, butter, and egg; add milk mixture to flour mixture, stirring until smooth.
2. Pour about 1/4 cup batter per pancake onto a hot nonstick griddle or nonstick skillet. Cook 2 minutes or until tops are covered with bubbles and edges look cooked. Carefully turn pancakes over; cook 2 minutes or until bottoms are lightly browned.
3. Place the sliced strawberries in a bowl , add sugar, and mix. Let it sit for about 10 minutes so it gets a bit syrupy.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “whole wheat pancakes with strawberries

  1. Crystal

    These look delicious!! Albert feels the same way about whole wheat pasta as you do but I think I can sway him on trying this breakfast goodness 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

