sangria

I’m a creature of habit. As much as I love trying new eateries, exploring an unfamiliar city, and meeting new people, I find comfort in my go-to’s. Friends where you can pick up where you’ve left off, a tried-and-true neighborhood brunch spot, an old pair of jeans, and so on. My weekend had a bit of both.

Trusty old faves like this little oneduncana memorable lunch at this new (to me) spot

geko teiMy summer go-to’s are road trips to SD/SB, beach bonfires, happy hour, BBQs, picnicking at the Hollywood Bowl, and sangria. Sangria reminds me of my travels through Spain and enjoying tapas on a warm summer night.

simple sangria (serves 3-4)
3 cups of wine (red or white)*
1 cup of Sprite or 7-up
2 white peaches, chopped into ½ inch chunks
1 orange, chopped into ½ inch chunks
1 orange, juiced
1 pint of raspberries (optional)

Add everything into a pitcher and let it sit in the refrigerator for at least 3-4 hours or best overnight. Pour into wine glasses over ice. Serve with cheese and crackers or charcuterie.

sangria*Can use a variety of wines, red or white, depending on what mood you’re in. For red, I’ve used Sangiovese, Rioja, and for white, Sauvignon Blanc, Fume Blanc, but really pick something you enjoy drinking by itself.

Note: when I make sangria, I don’t use precise measurements. I just pour in a little bit of this and that and taste as I go. Adjust the level of sweetness based on preference. I chose to share this recipe because you don’t have to make simple syrup but rather use Sprite as a shortcut. Enjoy!

One thought on “sangria

  1. Pingback: white sangria | honey & limes

Leave a Reply

