Kal’s Bistro in Pasadena

About a week ago, I enjoyed an ice cream tasting with two fellow bloggers at Kal’s Bistro in Old Towne Pasadena. The owner, Kal whose background is working in entertainment opened this restaurant about four months ago. He invited us to try his delectable homemade ice cream (by pastry chef Barbara) and even let us sample a few cocktails.

interiors

ice creamStarting clockwise, the flavors pictured are: mint orange blossom, strawberry habanero, white chocolate chocolate chips, cinnamon bun, and lavender cream cheese. My hands down faves were the lavender cream cheese and mint orange blossom. Maybe it was the warm summer weather but I was drawn to the light almost sorbet like qualities. The strawberry habanero was an experience. Initially, I tasted the fruit and then the spicy habanero coated the back of my throat. Funny thing about spicy food is it lures me back for more! Haha…  what can I say, I’ve been addicted to spicy food all my life, growing up with Korean food.

at the bar

rocketteI also sampled the Rockette, a cocktail made of agave, arugula (also called rocket in the UK), vermouth, and lime juice. This was so refreshing and a little zesty flavor of the arugula mixed with the tartness of the lime. Great balance of flavors. I would come back to order this one with a juicy burger 🙂 Many thanks to Kal and his staff; they were so hospitable and friendly.

My new blogger friend, Mary also blogged about her experience so check it out.

Just on an aside, hasn’t Old Towne Pasadena gone under a major renovation/redevelopment? There are so many new cafes, restaurants, shops that have opened up in the last few years. Crazy! About a month ago, I stumbled into a new cafe to get some change for the meter and later realized it was a brand new cafe, Copa Vida. Such beautiful interiors (and delicious kumquat pistachio croissant btw). The ceiling reminded me of waffles (haha, food is constantly on my mind…).

copa vida

5 thoughts on “Kal’s Bistro in Pasadena

Leave a Reply

