lacma: art imitating life

This past spring, my friend and I visited LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art) for a break from our usual routine. Considering I live down the street, it was a long overdue visit. I was particularly looking forward to seeing Metropolis II (2013) by Chris Burden, an Angeleno of international fame. This large kinetic structure was so intriguing. Being a Sensor (using my MBTI language), I initially observed the materials used like painted Jenga pieces, bathroom/kitchen backsplash tiles, steel beams, mirrors, and toy cars (1,100 in total). I stood in awe of the intricacies, lost in the details.

up close shot

church

Considering It was only until I was on the viewing platform that I had an aerial perspective of the piece that it dawned on me. I was missing the forest for the trees. This piece is depicting Los Angeles as an urban jungle.

The following week, the depiction provoked more questions than answers. What does it mean that as an Angeleno, I spend a good chunk of time each week riding in my car getting from Point A to B, from B to C, etc? What impact does the noise have? Can I hear myself think and feel to be introspective or am I continually distracted? What does it mean that there are so few and restricted forms of public transportation in the city? Needless to say, it left me introspective and contemplating the built environment’s influence individually and collectively.

aerial shotBut that all thinking and wandering gave us a serious case of the munchies and we wandered over to c+m, the museum’s coffee bar.

lacma c+m shot

lacma carrot cake

To my surprise, their delicious carrot cake went perfectly with their iced coffee (intelligentsia). And with happy stomachs and introspection, we bid adieu to the iconic lamposts until our next visit.

lacma street lamps

Leave a Reply

