matcha mochi muffins

I am my parents’ daughter. The more I interact with them, the more I see their personality traits and quirks reflected in me. I’ve been obsessed with making this matcha mochi muffin recipe. I’ve made it 4 different times and they have been my go-to taste testers. My mom will take a bite and then analyze the texture, flavor and comment on how this batch is different from the prior one. While this is going on, my dad will gleefully pop 2 or 3 in his mouth. I’m the same way. I can’t wait to get my hands on a warm one right out of the oven but I’m also my harshest critic. They taste good, but look beat up and burnt. They’re not chewy enough, too soft… etc. All this to say, I got it right the fourth time! Try this easy recipe (just follow my recipe and it should turn out just right).

This is an aside but I think it’s really sweet that my dad picks lemons for my mom when he’s playing a round of golf. When I asked him if it’s ok (by management), he said, there’s so many they won’t notice :).

matcha powder

matcha 2My (1st) and 3rd attemps both looked like this. Dark and beat up looking since I had to force them out of the pan. Btw, this is what happens when your ingredients are cold, straight out of the fridge. Unevenly baked.done!4th attempt, just right 🙂

mochi

matcha mochi muffins (adapted from tinyurbankitchen)
makes 40 (mini muffins)
1 lb rice flour (I use Koda Farms brand w/blue star)
2 TB + 1 tsp matcha powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil + ¼ cup veggie oil (or spray) to grease tins
2 cups milk (I use whole milk; as close to room temp)
2 cups granulated sugar
3 eggs (at room temp or close to that)

1. Preheat oven to 340F. In a large mixing bowl, whisk rice flour and matcha powder together. Add remaining ingredients until incorporated.
2. Generously grease 2 cupcake/muffin pans with more oil than you think you need. Why? Rice flour and sugar get very sticky. The batter should sit in a pool of oil. I know, it sounds gross but it’s ok. Fill each hole half way and bake for 30-35 minutes. Switch your pans about halfway through baking time.
3. About 30 minutes in, check to see if they’re done by sticking a toothpick inside. Should come out clean (or w/a little crumbs, not big ones). It’s ok if it looks a bit under done in the centers. The outer edges should be nicely browned (and crispy).
4. Once they’re done, use a plastic knife or fork to run along the perimeter of each muffin to loosen it (plastic so you don’t scratch your pans). Do it immediately after you’ve pulled it from the oven. Otherwise, it’s very sticky and difficult to fish out. Trust me on this. The first time around, mine had wholes on the bottom.

Notes: You can find matcha powder and rice flour at Asian supermarkets. I found mine at HMart. I like this Korean brand of matcha powder (about $7). It’s more affordable than the Japanese brands and has good flavor.

korean matcha powder

I tried baking these in cupcake liners but you won’t get the browned edges that give its crispy bite. Thanks also to all my friends who’ve been my recipe testers. I appreciate that you appreciate good eats.

Leave a Reply

