eat drink americano in the arts district

I hesitate to write about this place because I want to keep it ALL to myself (my true, possessive self shines through). This place feels intimate and the food is locally sourced, globally inspired. Gastropub w/a sophisticated, creative twist which I love. This is a great place to bring your sweetie or catch up w/a few friends. My friend and I were there on a Thursday night and it had a good number of people but not crowded. Btw, they have a special Vday menu if you’re still looking for a place. Reservations accepted on their website.

IMG_0055

IMG_0051

Please excuse this beam (beam, take a hike! you’re ruining my shot)

IMG_0050

I came during happy hour before my friend got off work to take advantage of the soft lighting on an overcast day. I tried the Pilgrim (appetizer), which is slow cooked turkey atop stuffing with corn foam and dots of cranberry sauce ($5) and a golden ale ($5). The corn form was something between a foam and puree. Whatever it was, it was light w/a touch of natural sweetness.

IMG_0059

My friend and I shared the oxtail sliders w/red cabbage slaw ($15) and popeye and olive oil flatbread ($9). The flatbread had a flavorful onion and spinach pesto that really popped on a chewy crust. The oxtail sliders look deceivingly small and cute but they’re packed w/meaty goodness. Mmm… getting hungry just thinking about it.

IMG_0068

IMG_0067

Leave a Reply

