salted brown butter rice crispy treats

I was inspired to make these when my friend MC was raving about how easy and addicting these are. I hit up my local Fresh & Easy market to grab the two missing ingredients (this recipe has a whopping total of 3, sans salt, everyone should have salt at home, common now). The clerk there was so sweet as he was telling me all the variations of rice crispy treats that his wife makes for him. Chocolate drizzle, melted chocolate, mixed nuts, Rice Chex... all the endless varieties. What struck me about this brief interaction (with a total stranger) is I sensed how much he loved and appreciated his wife. Something as simple as a 3-ingredient sweet treat will do that, make you feel someone’s love.

Enough of the sappy talk, haha. Back to business. I love how this recipe doesn’t require you to turn on the oven. All you need is the stove top, medium pot, wooden spoon, and baking pan.

rice krispy treats brown butter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

salted brown butter rice crispy treat (adapted from smittenkitchen blog)

1 stick of unsalted butter (equivalent to 1/2 cup) + 1 TB for the baking pan
10 oz. marshmallows (big or small ones are both good)
1/4 tsp of coarse sea salt (I like Morton’s)
6 1/2 cups of Rice Krispies cereal (I may have added another handful–eyeball it)

Butter a baking pan or sheet as the finished treat will cool on here. I recommend using parchment paper to avoid a sticky mess in cleaning up.

In a medium pot, melt butter on medium-low heat until it starting foaming and starts looking golden. Stir so it doesn’t burn. The trick is to get to the amber color but doesn’t burn; should have a nutty aroma. Adjust to the lowest possible heat.

Add 10 oz of marshmallows into the pot and stir with the melted butter. Should dissolve and the browned bits should be evident on the white puffs of sugar. Once everything is melted, add your rice crispy cereal (I measure this all out beforehand so it’s quick) and salt. Stir/mix until everything is incorporated and pour out into your buttered baking pan.

Let it cool before you cut it into squares and enjoy. I tried these 2 days after I made them and they were still crispy and not stale. Hey, not bad, huh? I know because my coworkers didn’t devour them the first day.

Leave a Reply

