chicken and veggie soup

It’s been a tough few weeks as I’m getting over the stomach flu. I’ve had the stomach flu twice in less than 2 weeks! My doctor recommended that I stick to soups and get lots of rest, which is what I’ve been doing (aside from the ahi tuna watermelon radish salad I had yesterday at work).  The funny thing is I start making a mental list of what I want to eat (a lot of junk food). Once the nurse said to avoid hamburgers, that’s what I started craving. Haha… I guess that’s how it is, I crave what I can’t have. In the meantime, I’m enjoying homemade soups like this one.

This is not an exact recipe but pretty close. I’ve been making chicken soup since college and it’s one of the easiest ones to make, especially if you have a rotisserie chicken. I would recommend using homemade chicken broth (recipe here) but store bought works too. It’s amazing that Costco still sells their rotisserie chicken for 4.99 after all these years.

chicken soup pic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

chicken and veggie soup (serves 4 hearty portions)
6 cups of chicken broth
2 small carrots, sliced
1 celery rib, sliced
1/2 onion, diced
1/2 russet potato, diced
handful of mushrooms, sliced
add other veggies (added broccoli)
2 handfuls of dried pasta or rice (used orzo)
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/4 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp of sea salt (adjust the amount accordingly)
black pepper to taste

1. In a stock pot, pour in the chicken broth, add carrots, potatoes, onions, celery, herbs, and bring to a boil. Once it’s boiling, bring it down to a simmer for about 20 minutes or until carrots are fork tender.
2. Add your pasta or rice and other softer veggies (don’t need as much cooking time) and let it simmer for another 10 minutes or so or until the pasta/rice is cooked.
3. Taste and season with salt and pepper accordingly.

The amount of salt you want to add is up to you. I opt for the low-sodium chicken broth to control the amount of sodium in my soup. I like adding it at the end for that reason. Hope you enjoy this dish as much as I do. Sure beats a brown bag sandwich any day.

One thought on “chicken and veggie soup

  1. carmasurprise

    I’d be suspicious of it really being the stomach flu twice in 2 weeks. It’s more likely food intolerances or IBD. My IBD started out like that and regular drs. kept saying it was just a bug until I got very very sick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

